Pulp Fortress forum archives
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Win7 is breaking my balls

5 posters

Go down

Win7 is breaking my balls Empty Win7 is breaking my balls

Post by Eraserhead 3/5/2010, 10:02

I kept having steam disconnect issues and not being able to bring up the ingame overlay with shift+tab so i decided to re-install windows last saturday. While i was at it i installed Win7. I installed all my hardware drivers (latest versions), the only ones i had to install were my display and sound driver, the rest were done by windows.

Now when i started playing in the pug on sunday i had terrible lag!! When i move my mouse the screen just goes in slow motion, frames are missing, and a really low FPS of like 20. I test drived orange with tendo last night and no problems. So it seems for some reason my CPU and graphic card can't handle the same like it could before when i was running XP.

Major changes:

-Installed Win7
-Installed updated display driver

I even tried to play orange_x3 with all display settings set to lowest and it was still hell.

Any suggestions?

My CPU: AMD Athlon 3500 - 2.2GHz
Display card: ATI Radeon HD3650 - 512MB
RAM: 2GB DDR2

Last edited by Eraserhead on 3/5/2010, 15:19; edited 2 times in total
Eraserhead
Eraserhead
Senior Game Admin
Senior Game Admin

http://www.pulpfortress.com

Back to top Go down

Win7 is breaking my balls Empty Re: Win7 is breaking my balls

Post by LOOK IT'S ADAM!!! 3/5/2010, 10:30

RAM?
antivirus?

use ctrl-shift-esc to bring up the task manager and check to see what's hogging your resources.
LOOK IT'S ADAM!!!
LOOK IT'S ADAM!!!
Clan Member
Clan Member

Back to top Go down

Post by Epps 3/5/2010, 10:30

You changed your OS meaning you have to update all your drivers and updating your BIOS couldn't hurt either. You can usually find the most recent drivers on the website of your computer manufactuer organized by model number.